Craft Room · Buying guide
Best Lamp for Sewing: 7 Picks Matched to Lux at the Needle
Seven lamps checked on paper against the light sewing needs: how bright at the needle, which color, and where the lamp goes.
The short answer
Sewing needs 2,000–5,000 lux on the fabric, far more than a ceiling light gives. Clamp a high-CRI task lamp to the table on the side opposite your writing hand. The Daylight Slimline 4 is rated 3,200 lux at 12 in; add a magnifier lamp for hand stitching.
Our picks at a glance
Best overall
Daylight Slimline 4 Table Lamp
Machine sewing and cutting at one table, if you want a published lux figure at a real working distance.
See it at Amazon (opens in a new tab)Best floor lamp
OttLite WingShade LED Floor Lamp
Hand sewing, embroidery or binding from an armchair.
See it at Amazon (opens in a new tab)Best magnifier floor lamp
OttLite EasyView LED Floor Lamp with Magnifier
Cross stitch, needlepoint and threading needles from a chair.
See it at Amazon (opens in a new tab)Strongest magnifier
Brightech LightView Pro 5 Diopter Floor Magnifier
Very fine hand work and anyone over 40 who struggles with small stitches.
See it at Amazon (opens in a new tab)Best light on the machine
ViviLux Super Bright Flexible Craft Light
Lighting the needle area from the machine itself, or taking light to a class.
See it at Amazon (opens in a new tab)Best add-on for straight seams
ViviLux 3-in-1 Green Laser Guide
Quilters who sew many half-square triangles or stitch-in-the-ditch lines.
See it at Amazon (opens in a new tab)Best ceiling light for a sewing room
Lithonia Crest 48 in Switchable LED Flush Mount
Replacing a dim ceiling fixture so the room is bright enough around the task lamp.
See it at Amazon (opens in a new tab)
Which one is for you
| If you… | Buy… |
|---|---|
| sew at a machine table | Daylight Slimline 4 Table Lamp |
| stitch by hand in an armchair | OttLite WingShade LED Floor Lamp |
| want a magnifier and a lamp in one | OttLite EasyView with Magnifier |
| need the strongest magnifier | Brightech LightView Pro 5 Diopter |
| want light on the machine itself | ViviLux Super Bright Flexible Craft Light |
| sew many straight lines | ViviLux 3-in-1 Green Laser Guide |
| find the whole room too dim | Lithonia Crest 48 in Flush Mount |
01Best overall
Daylight Slimline 4 Table Lamp
Best for: Machine sewing and cutting at one table, if you want a published lux figure at a real working distance.
The only pick whose maker gives lux at the work: 3,200 lux at 12 in on its brightest step, 6,000K and 95+ CRI. It clamps to the table edge, so the head reaches over the machine bed without using table space.
- Light
- 1,000 lm; 3,200 / 2,000 / 1,500 / 750 lux at 12 in (30 cm), 4 steps
- Color
- 6,000K, CRI 95+
- Magnifier
- None
- Adjustability
- Flexible arm, 58 cm (23 in) wide; table clamp up to 55 mm (2.2 in) or screw-down base
- Warranty
- 3 years when bought from the maker; the Amazon listing says 2 years
- Where to buy
- Daylight Company shop; also Amazon (in stock on Nov 3, 2026)
Why we like it
- Steps 1 and 2 land inside the sewing range at 12 in.
- Clamp keeps the table clear for fabric.
- Dimmable in 4 steps for dark and light fabric.
Keep in mind
- Fixed 6,000K; no warm setting for evening hand work.
- The priciest pick in this guide.
Skip it if your table edge is thicker than 55 mm (2.2 in) and you have no room for the screw-down base.
How we know: Maker product page and the Amazon listing, linked in the sources. We did not measure this lamp.
02Best floor lamp
OttLite WingShade LED Floor Lamp
Best for: Hand sewing, embroidery or binding from an armchair.
A floor lamp with a wide 14 in shade on a flexible neck that reaches over a chair, with 95+ CRI and three color modes.
- Light
- 3 brightness steps; lumens and lux not published
- Color
- 3 modes (warm, bright white, daylight); Kelvin not published; CRI 95+
- Magnifier
- None
- Adjustability
- Height 50.5–64 in (128–163 cm), flexible neck, 14 × 3.2 in shade
- Warranty
- 2 years
- Where to buy
- OttLite shop; also Amazon (in stock on Nov 3, 2026)
Why we like it
- Wide shade spreads light over a hoop or a quilt edge.
- Warm mode for evenings, daylight mode for color matching.
Keep in mind
- No lux or lumen figure, so you cannot check it against the sewing range on paper.
Skip it if you sew at a machine table; a clamp lamp puts light closer.
How we know: Maker product page and the Amazon listing, linked in the sources. We did not measure this lamp.
03Best magnifier floor lamp
OttLite EasyView LED Floor Lamp with Magnifier
Best for: Cross stitch, needlepoint and threading needles from a chair.
A floor lamp with a rimless 1.75x magnifier and a 3x spot lens on its own arm, so you can swing the lens away and keep the light.
- Light
- 3 brightness steps, 12.5 W; lumens and lux not published
- Color
- Kelvin not published; CRI 95+
- Magnifier
- 1.75x main lens plus 3x spot lens
- Adjustability
- Height 47.5–64 in (121–163 cm), flexible arms
- Warranty
- 2 years
- Where to buy
- OttLite shop; also Amazon, sold by OttLite (in stock on Nov 3, 2026)
Why we like it
- Separate 3x spot lens for needle threading.
- Lens and light move independently.
Keep in mind
- 1.75x is mild; very fine counted work may want more.
- A few owners on the Amazon listing find it too short beside a tall chair.
Skip it if you only sew at a machine.
How we know: Maker product page and OttLite's own Amazon listing, linked in the sources. We did not measure this lamp.
04Strongest magnifier
Brightech LightView Pro 5 Diopter Floor Magnifier
Best for: Very fine hand work and anyone over 40 who struggles with small stitches.
A rolling floor lamp with a 4.5 in glass lens at 5 diopters (2.25x), 800 lm and a color setting from 3,000K to 6,000K.
- Light
- 800 lm, 9 W, dimmable; lux not published
- Color
- 3,000–6,000K; CRI not stated
- Magnifier
- 5 diopter, 2.25x, 4.5 in (11 cm) glass lens
- Adjustability
- Height 24–55 in (61–140 cm), reach up to 29 in (74 cm), 6 wheels
- Warranty
- 3 years on the Amazon listing; 5 years when bought from the maker's site
- Where to buy
- Amazon, sold by Brightech USA (in stock on Nov 3, 2026)
Why we like it
- Strongest lens in this guide.
- Warm and cool settings in one head.
Keep in mind
- Heavy at 27 lb and hard to roll on carpet, owners say.
- Some owners report the arm drooping over time.
Skip it if you need light over a whole machine bed; the lens head lights a small area.
How we know: Brightech's own Amazon listing (sold by Brightech USA) and the maker's warranty page, linked in the sources. We did not measure this lamp.
05Best light on the machine
ViviLux Super Bright Flexible Craft Light
Best for: Lighting the needle area from the machine itself, or taking light to a class.
A small rechargeable gooseneck light rated 1,200 lm that sticks to the machine with hook-and-loop tape.
- Light
- 1,200 lm, dims by 30%; lux not published
- Color
- 6,500K on the listing; CRI not stated
- Magnifier
- None
- Adjustability
- Flexible neck; hook-and-loop mount; battery, 3 h charge
- Warranty
- 1 year on the Amazon listing
- Where to buy
- Harbor Sales (ViviLux maker) shop; also Amazon, sold by ViviLux (in stock on Nov 3, 2026)
Why we like it
- Cordless, so nothing trails across the table.
- The budget way to add light right at the presser foot.
Keep in mind
- Runtime is 14 h on the maker page but 20+ h on the listing; plan for the lower number.
- No CRI figure.
Skip it if you want true color for matching thread; pick a 95+ CRI lamp.
How we know: Maker product page and ViviLux's own Amazon listing, linked in the sources. We did not measure this light.
06Best add-on for straight seams
ViviLux 3-in-1 Green Laser Guide
Best for: Quilters who sew many half-square triangles or stitch-in-the-ditch lines.
Not a lamp but a guide: a green line, dot or crosshair laser that marks where the needle will go.
- Light
- Green laser, Class 2, under 5 mW; line, dot (1 mm) and crosshair heads
- Color
- Green beam
- Magnifier
- None
- Adjustability
- Adjustable arm, hook-and-loop mount, battery, 3 h charge
- Warranty
- Not stated on the listing
- Where to buy
- Harbor Sales (ViviLux maker) shop; also Amazon, sold by ViviLux (in stock on Nov 3, 2026)
Why we like it
- Shows the stitch line without marking the fabric.
Keep in mind
- Rated 3.4 of 5 from 237 ratings on the listing; check the return window.
- Class 2: never look into the beam.
Skip it if you do not sew long straight lines.
How we know: Maker product page, the Amazon listing and the FDA laser FAQ, linked in the sources. We did not test this laser.
07Best ceiling light for a sewing room
Lithonia Crest 48 in Switchable LED Flush Mount
Best for: Replacing a dim ceiling fixture so the room is bright enough around the task lamp.
A 4 ft flush mount with a switch for 3,000K, 4,000K or 5,000K, 90+ CRI and about 3,800 lm.
- Light
- 3,167 / 3,889 / 3,521 lm at 3,000K / 4,000K / 5,000K, 42 W
- Color
- 3,000K, 4,000K or 5,000K by switch; CRI over 90
- Magnifier
- None
- Adjustability
- Fixed; 47 in long, hardwired
- Warranty
- 5 years limited
- Where to buy
- Lighting retailers; also Amazon (low stock on Nov 3, 2026)
Why we like it
- Spec sheet includes the utilization table we used for the ceiling estimate.
- Pick the color by switch to match your task lamp.
Keep in mind
- Needs an electrician or wiring experience.
- Rated 3.6 of 5 from 22 ratings on the listing.
Skip it if you rent and cannot change fixtures.
How we know: Maker spec sheet (PDF, retailer-hosted) and the Amazon listing, linked in the sources. We did not install this fixture.
A sewing machine’s built-in bulb lights the presser foot and little else. Your hand shades the seam guide, dark thread disappears into dark fabric, and your eyes tire sooner. A good sewing light fixes that with a second, much brighter source aimed at the needle from the side.
This guide works from one number: how much light lands on the fabric. We compare it with what an ordinary ceiling light delivers, then match seven real lamps to the job, from a clamp lamp for the machine to a magnifier for cross stitch.

Quick picks
- Machine table: Daylight Slimline 4, the only pick with a published lux figure at 12 in.
- Armchair hand sewing: OttLite WingShade, a floor lamp with a wide shade.
- Magnifier plus lamp: OttLite EasyView at 1.75x, or the Brightech LightView Pro at 2.25x.
- Light on the machine: ViviLux craft light, cordless.
- Straight seams: ViviLux green laser.
- Dim room: Lithonia Crest ceiling fixture.
Matching the lamp to the work
Machine piecing and garment sewing. The machine’s own bulb lights a small area around the presser foot, and your hands sit in front of the needle. A clamp lamp on the left of the table, arm reaching over the bed, covers both problems. Add a small light on the machine if the area behind the presser foot still looks dim.
Quilting on a domestic machine. A quilt sandwich is bulky and moves all the time, so the lit area has to be wide. Pair the clamp lamp with a brighter room: the ceiling estimate further down shows how far even three fixtures stay from the sewing range. A laser guide helps if you sew long straight lines, but it does not replace light.
Hand sewing, binding and embroidery. You hold the work in your lap or in a hoop, often from an armchair. A floor lamp with a flexible neck puts light over your shoulder on the side opposite your writing hand. Choose 95+ CRI if you match floss to fabric in the evening.
Counted cross stitch and needlepoint. Small holes in even-weave fabric need contrast more than raw brightness. A magnifier lamp gives both, as long as the lens is not so strong that it hides most of the hoop. The Cross Stitch Calculator works out fabric size and floss for a chart.
Dark thread on dark fabric. This is the hardest case. Turn the task lamp to its brightest step and bring it closer; the Slimline figures show how much light you lose on the lower steps.
How much light sewing needs
The Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety (CCOHS) lists 2,000–5,000 lux for low-contrast, very small work done for a long time, and names sewing as an example. General room lighting is usually 500–1,000 lux. One footcandle is 10.764 lux, so the sewing range is about 186–465 footcandles, against 46–93 for the room.

The UC ergonomics guide adds that people need more light with age, because the eye needs more contrast to see detail. If you are over 40 and your stitches look blurrier than they used to, start with light before blaming your machine.
Why a ceiling light is not enough
We estimated what a good ceiling fixture delivers with the lumen method described by EC&M, using the Lithonia Crest spec sheet. Take a 10 × 12 ft sewing room with an 8 ft ceiling and the work surface at 2.5 ft:
Even three new fixtures barely reach the room range, and they stay well under 2,000 lux. The task lamp has to add the remaining 1,400 lux or more right at the needle. That is why the Slimline 4’s figures matter: 3,200 lux at 12 in on step 1 and 2,000 lux on step 2 sit inside the sewing range on their own, while steps 3 and 4 (1,500 and 750 lux) do not.
Most makers publish only lumens, which describe what leaves the lamp, not what reaches the fabric. If a lamp lists lumens only, a cheap light meter at the needle tells you more than any box.
Where to put the lamp
The University of California task lighting guide says to place the lamp opposite your writing hand to keep shadows off the work, and to angle the shade away from your eyes. For a right-handed sewist that means the left side of the table; left-handed, the right side.

OSHA’s fine-work advice for sewing stations points the same way: adjustable task lighting aimed at the work area, plus magnifiers where the detail is small. Keep the ceiling light on too. A bright spot in a dark room makes your eyes adjust every time you look up.
Color temperature and CRI
Color temperature, in Kelvin, describes how warm or cool white light looks: around 3,000K is warm and yellowish, 5,000K and up looks cool. It is a matter of taste for sewing. The U.S. Department of Energy notes that it describes the light itself, not how colors look under it.
That second job belongs to the color rendering index. The DOE fact sheet calls CRI in the 80s good and in the 90s excellent. For matching thread to fabric, look for 90 or more.

Three picks state 95+ and the Crest states over 90. The Brightech and ViviLux lights give no CRI, so treat them as helpers, not as your color-matching light.
How the seven picks compare
| Lamp | Type | Light data | CRI | Magnifier |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Daylight Slimline 4 (opens in a new tab) | Clamp | 3,200 lux at 12 in | 95+ | None |
| OttLite WingShade (opens in a new tab) | Floor | Steps only | 95+ | None |
| OttLite EasyView (opens in a new tab) | Floor | Steps only | 95+ | 1.75x, 3x spot |
| Brightech LightView Pro (opens in a new tab) | Floor | 800 lm | Not given | 2.25x |
| ViviLux craft light (opens in a new tab) | On machine | 1,200 lm | Not given | None |
| ViviLux green laser (opens in a new tab) | On machine | Laser line | – | None |
| Lithonia Crest (opens in a new tab) | Ceiling | 3,889 lm at 4,000K | 90+ | None |
Magnifier lamps: diopters and “x”
Magnifier lamps are sold in diopters or as “x” power. Brightech labels its 3 diopter lens 1.75x and its 5 diopter lens 2.25x, which fits the common rule: magnification = diopters ÷ 4 + 1. By that rule the EasyView’s 1.75x lens is about 3 diopters.
Stronger is not always better. A stronger lens shows a smaller area and has to sit closer to the work, so 1.75x suits most needlepoint and 2.25x suits fine counted work or tired eyes. Our embroidery hoop size guide helps you judge how much of the hoop you want in view.
Lights and lasers on the machine
A small light stuck to the machine head fills the area the machine itself shades. The ViviLux craft light is rated 1,200 lm and dims by 30%, so its low setting is about 840 lm. Its maker page gives 14 hours per charge and the Amazon listing 20+; plan for 14.
A laser guide does a different job: it draws the stitch line on the fabric. The ViviLux green laser is Class 2 and under 5 mW. The FDA says Class 2 lasers are not considered hazardous for brief accidental exposure but can be with longer direct viewing, so never look into the beam and keep it away from children. Its listing rates it 3.4 of 5 from 237 ratings, so buy where returns are easy.
Common mistakes
- Buying by lumens. Lumens say nothing about the light on the fabric. Look for lux at a stated distance.
- Lamp on the same side as your writing hand. Your hand shades the stitch line.
- Bare LEDs in view. Glare tires your eyes faster than dim light; angle the head down.
- Only a task lamp in a dark room. Keep the ceiling light on.
- Ignoring CRI. A cool, bright lamp with low CRI still makes navy and black look alike.
- A too-strong magnifier. A 5 diopter lens shows a small area at a close distance; for a whole hoop, 1.75x may work better.
- Mixing colors. A 3,000K ceiling light with a 6,000K task lamp makes colors look different depending on where you hold the fabric. The Crest’s 5,000K setting pairs better with a daylight lamp.
Bottom line
Start from the 2,000–5,000 lux sewing range. A ceiling light gets the room to a few hundred lux; a high-CRI task lamp on the side opposite your writing hand does the rest. For the room around it, see our guides to sewing chairs and sewing tables. For the whole room, see our sewing room ideas; keep fabric shelves out of the lamp’s beam with our craft room storage ideas, and for a cozy corner try crochet home decor patterns.
How we research
We picked lamps on product quality first, then checked they were in stock on Nov 3, 2026, preferring the maker’s own shop and listing Amazon only as an extra source. We read their maker pages, spec sheets and maker-run store listings. Light levels come from CCOHS, color guidance from the U.S. Department of Energy and placement from the University of California and OSHA. The ceiling figures are our own calculation from the Lithonia spec sheet. We did not measure, test or install any of these lamps. Owner comments are summarized from the Amazon listings and named as such. Read more on how we research.
Where our numbers come from
- CCOHS: general lighting usually 500–1,000 lux; 2,000–5,000 lux for low-contrast, very small tasks over a long period, including sewing. Our conversion at 10.764 lux per footcandle: 46–93 fc and 186–465 fc; the Slimline steps of 3,200, 2,000, 1,500 and 750 lux are about 297, 186, 139 and 70 fc. 2,000 − 607 = 1,393, about 1,400 lux the task lamp has to add.
- University of California Office of the President: lamp opposite the writing hand, shade angled away from the eyes; more light needed with age, rising after 40.
- U.S. Department of Energy: CCT describes the light, not object colors; CRI in the 80s good, 90s excellent. Example values 3,000K warm, 5,000K and up cool, 6,500K cool.
- EC&M: lumen method and room cavity ratio, work plane at 2.5 ft. Our room: 10 × 12 ft, 8 ft ceiling, so 8 − 2.5 = 5.5 ft; RCR = 5 × 5.5 × 22 ÷ 120 = 5.04, used as 5. One fixture 3,889 × 0.58 ÷ 120 = 18.8 fc = 202 lux; 2 fixtures 405 lux; 3 fixtures 607 lux; light loss factor 1.
- OSHA: adjustable task lighting on the work area and magnifiers where needed at fine-work sewing stations.
- FDA: Class 2 lasers and brief versus prolonged viewing; under 5 mW.
- Daylight Company: 1,000 lm, 3,200 / 2,000 / 1,500 / 750 lux at 30 cm (12 in) on 4 steps, 6,000K, CRI 95+, clamp opening 55 mm (2.2 in), width 58 cm (23 in), 3-year warranty on maker purchases.
- Amazon listing, Slimline 4: in stock on Nov 3, 2026; warranty stated as 2 years.
- OttLite WingShade: CRI 95+, 3 color modes, 3 brightness steps, height 50.5–64 in (128–163 cm), shade 14 × 3.1875 in (rounded 3.2), 2-year warranty.
- Amazon listing, WingShade: in stock on Nov 3, 2026.
- OttLite EasyView: 1.75x magnifier with 3x spot viewer, 3 brightness steps, height 47.5–64 in (121–163 cm), 2-year warranty.
- Amazon listing, EasyView (sold by OttLite): CRI 95+, 12.5 W, in stock on Nov 3, 2026; some owners find it too short.
- Amazon listing, Brightech LightView Pro (sold by Brightech USA): 5 diopter, 2.25x; 3 diopter option 1.75x; 4.5 in lens (11 cm); 800 lm, 9 W; 3,000–6,000K; height 24–55 in (61–140 cm); reach 29 in (74 cm); 6 wheels; about 27 lb; 3-year warranty; in stock on Nov 3, 2026. Rule check: 5 ÷ 4 + 1 = 2.25 and 3 ÷ 4 + 1 = 1.75. Owner notes on carpet and arm drooping from the listing summary.
- Brightech support page: 5-year warranty on purchases from the maker’s site.
- Harbor Sales (ViviLux) craft light: 1,200 lm, dims by 30% (1,200 × 0.7 = 840 lm), 14+ hours per charge, 3-hour charge, hook-and-loop mount.
- Amazon listing, ViviLux craft light: 6,500K, 1-year warranty, 20+ hour battery, in stock on Nov 3, 2026.
- Harbor Sales (ViviLux) green laser: line, crosshair and 1 mm dot heads, 3-hour charge.
- Amazon listing, ViviLux green laser (sold by ViviLux): Class 2, under 5 mW, in stock on Nov 3, 2026, 3.4 of 5 from 237 ratings.
- Lithonia Lighting spec sheet: 3,167 / 3,889 / 3,521 delivered lm at 3,000K / 4,000K / 5,000K (about 3,800 lm), 42 W, 90 lm per W (3,800 ÷ 42 = 90.5), CRI over 90, 47 in long, 5-year limited warranty, 4 ft nominal; coefficient of utilization 0.58 at RCR 5 with 80% / 50% / 20% reflectance.
- Amazon listing, Lithonia Crest: low stock on Nov 3, 2026, 3.6 of 5 from 22 ratings.
Light check at your machine
Questions people ask
What is the best lamp for sewing?
For a machine table, a clamp-on LED task lamp with 95+ CRI that puts at least 2,000 lux on the fabric, the bottom of the CCOHS range for sewing. The Daylight Slimline 4 is rated 3,200 lux at 12 in. For hand work in a chair, a floor lamp with a flexible neck.
How many lumens do I need for sewing?
Lumens describe what a lamp emits, not what lands on the fabric. Sewing needs 2,000–5,000 lux at the work, and how many lumens that takes depends on distance and beam. Prefer lamps that publish lux at a set distance.
What color light is best for sewing?
Color temperature is taste: warm 3,000K or cool 5,000–6,500K both work. For matching thread to fabric, CRI matters more; the DOE rates the 90s excellent.
Which side should a sewing lamp be on?
Opposite your writing hand: on the left if you are right-handed, on the right if you are left-handed. Angle the shade away from your eyes.
Are magnifier lamps worth it for needlework?
For counted cross stitch, needlepoint and threading, yes. A 3 diopter lens shows things about 1.75x larger, a 5 diopter lens about 2.25x.
Sources and changes
- CCOHS, Lighting Ergonomics: Survey and Solutions
- University of California Office of the President, Task Lighting (PDF)
- U.S. Department of Energy, LED Color Characteristics (PDF)
- EC&M, A Practical Guide to Indoor Office Lighting
- OSHA, Sewing and Related Procedures eTool: Fine Work
- FDA, Frequently Asked Questions About Lasers
- Daylight Company, Slimline 4 Table Lamp (maker page)
- Amazon listing, Daylight Slimline 4 Table Lamp
- OttLite, WingShade LED Floor Lamp (maker page)
- Amazon listing, OttLite WingShade LED Floor Lamp
- OttLite, EasyView LED Craft Floor Lamp with Magnifier (maker page)
- Amazon listing, OttLite EasyView LED Floor Lamp (sold by OttLite)
- Amazon listing, Brightech LightView Pro (sold by Brightech USA)
- Brightech, Support and warranty page
- Harbor Sales (ViviLux), Super Bright Flexible Craft Light (maker page)
- Amazon listing, ViviLux Super Bright Flexible Craft Light (sold by ViviLux)
- Harbor Sales (ViviLux), 3-in-1 Rechargeable Green Laser System (maker page)
- Amazon listing, ViviLux 3-in-1 Green Laser Guide (sold by ViviLux)
- Lithonia Lighting, Crest FMLCRSLS 48IN spec sheet (PDF, retailer-hosted)
- Amazon listing, Lithonia Crest FMLCRSLS 48IN
What changed
- Draft written as a buying guide with seven picks, a lux budget and a ceiling-light estimate.